

PRESS RELEASE May 13, 2012 The Arts Council, Inc. 80 E. Ocean Blvd., Stuart, FL 34994 Nancy Turrell, Executive Director – 287-6676

## mARTies award winners announced

*Stuart, Florida,* The Arts Council of Martin County announced the mARTies awards winners at a special celebration at StarStruck Performing Arts Center on Thursday, May 3.

"The Arts Council is proud to present the mARTies Awards – a celebration of the arts and what they mean to each of us," said Arts Council Chairman Jim Simoneau.

Talented nominees in seven categories were judged for artistic excellence, civic responsibility and leadership in improving the quality of life in our community. The 2012 mARTies awards winners are

Outstanding Visual Artist: Cristina de la Vega Outstanding Performing Artist: Jennifer Paul Jones Outstanding Volunteer for the Arts: Karen Vaina Outstanding Student Digital Media Artist: Jesse Forbes Outstanding Student Visual Artist: Jordan Schulz Outstanding Student Performing Artist: Cory Jeacoma

In addition to the awards announced at the mARTies celebration, others were recognized for their support of the arts including:

Lifetime Achievement: Rita Vallis Excellence in Arts Education: Marcus Rabb Philanthropy in the Arts: Barbara Trimble Corporate Leadership: Publix Super Market Charities Arts Leadership: Jeanette Mueller Arts Leadership: Robert E. Valle

The Arts Council of Martin County is a 501(c)3 non-profit membership organization that supports the arts and artists. Revenues from events benefit both the artists and the Arts Council to support the on-going programs of the Council including arts information activities, arts education programs for youth and support for artists and arts organizations. The Arts Council and the Court House Cultural Center Gallery are located at 80 E. Ocean Boulevard, Stuart, Florida. For information visit the Arts Council website at www.martinarts.org or call 772-287-6676.

The Arts Council is sponsored in part by the Florida Department of State, Division of Cultural Affairs, the Florida Arts Council, City of Stuart, Martin County Board of County Commissioners, and private contributions.

###

mARTies Award 2012 Recipients:

(L-R) Jeanette Mueller, Karen Vaina, Robert Valle, Jesse Forbes, Cory Jeacoma, Jennifer Paul Jones, Marcus Rabb, Rita Vallis, Jordan Schulz, Cristina de la Vega (not pictured: Publix Super Market Charities, Barbara Trimble) Photo by Thomas Winter

