Skip to main content


Masterworks I - Variations

Friday, January 10, 2020
The Lyric Theatre

Masterworks I
BEETHOVEN Symphony No. 1
RACHMANINOFF Rhapsody on a Theme of Paganini
DVORAK Slavonic Dances, Op. 46
David Amado, conductor
Gabriela Martinez, piano

We open our 2020 Season celebrating our 30th Anniversary, and Beethoven’s 250th with the music of Dvorak, Rachmaninoff and, of course, Beethoven. We begin where Beethoven began, with his first symphony. Still steeped in 18th Century values, it is, nevertheless, plenty naughty — with subversive modulations, playful formal hiccups, and a masterful control of dramatic unfolding—just the seeds that would later grow to become the monumental later symphonies. We’ll follow, with the help of brilliant pianist Gabriela Martinez, with Rachmaninoff’s ripe, romantic set of variations on a theme of Paganini, and conclude with eight Slavonic Dances of Dvorak—from lyrical to furious—gentle to raucous. It is the perfect way to kick off a year of celebration for the ACO.

Single Tickets: $30 – $60
Subscriptions: $90 – $220
For subscriptions call the ACO Box Office at 772.460.0851
Single Ticket sales begin on October 1, 2019