Skip to main content

Local Gallery & Organizations


Hobe Sound Fine Arts League

Hobe Sound Fine Arts League

The Hobe Sound Fine Arts League, previously known as The Art League of Hobe Sound, was formed on January 23, 1984 with the following members: Dolores Alchermes Zapatelli, Rosalie Becht, Charlotte Denniston, Evelyn Gaio, Margaret Matlock, and Jean Seewald. The league held their meetings in the St. Christopher’s Parish hall.

The decision to incorporate was made in November 1985. From the beginning, a professional artist gave the League members a monthly demonstration in the artist specialty.

The original Gallery space was obtained in April of 1987, and opened publicly the following September. This provided the members with a place to exhibit there art. At the same, time, the art instruction program was instituted and classes in various art media were opened to members as well as the general public. Our new Gallery space was obtained in 1996.